Wolfe Mays Essay Prize

Each year, the British Society for Phenomenology (BSP) and the Journal of the British Society for Phenomenology (JBSP) convene the annual Wolfe Mays Essay Prize. The prize is awarded to an outstanding submission addressing a specially set topic. The competition is open to PhD students and Early Career Researchers (ECRs) who are members of the BSP.

The prize is named in honour of Wolfe Mays, who founded the BSP in 1967 and the JBSP soon after, remaining the journal’s editor until his death in 2005.

The winner of the prize will receive a monetary award and have their essay published in the JBSP (subsequent to editorial and peer-review). In addition, all shortlisted essays to the competition will be also be considered as submissions to the JBSP. The prize will be judged by a jury composed on an annual basis from the BSP Executive Committee, the JBSP Editorial Committee and Editorial Advisory Board, and independent reviewers. Full details of eligibility, submission, and evaluation criteria for the Wolfe Mays Essay Prize for each year can be accessed by clicking the links below.

Wolfe Mays Essay Prize 2022-23: ‘Collective Memory’Submissions closed 31 March 2023
Wolfe Mays Essay Prize 2021: ‘Engaged Phenomenology’Prize awarded to Rosa Ritunnano

Questions should be addressed to the JBSP Editor-in-Chief Dr Darian Meacham at [email protected].