Call for Submissions – Simone de Beauvoir Studies – Prix Patterson 2022

BSP News Item Thumbnail

The prize is awarded annually to a work that demonstrates excellence in writing and the embodying characteristics of Beauvoir’s oeuvre.

Call for Submissions
2022 Patterson Prize
Simone de Beauvoir Studies
Deadline: March 1, 2022, 11:59pm EST

Award: $300 USD and publication in Simone de Beauvoir Studies

This annual award is named after Yolanda Astarita Patterson, the Editor in Chief of Simone de Beauvoir Studies for more than thirty years (1985-2016). The Patterson Prize is awarded annually to a work that demonstrates excellence in writing while also embodying modes of thought and expression characteristic of Beauvoir’s oeuvre. The editors especially invite submissions on topics relevant to Beauvoir’s legacy such as gender and sexuality, race and culture, literature, existentialism, global politics, and others.

Hallmarks of Beauvoir’s writing include a capacity to speak to the most pressing issues of our time; rigorous thinking that attends to the complexity and ambiguity of lived experience; a remarkable openness to new ideas; detailed attention to marginalized voices and first-person accounts of phenomena; the capacity to utilize multiple modes of expression; and a courageous insistence on challenging oppression in all its forms. The Patterson Prize is an international, multi-genre competition that welcomes submissions from authors writing from any cultural, disciplinary, interdisciplinary, and stylistic perspective. For the 2022 prize competition, we welcome submissions in French (the 2023 prize competition will consider English submissions).

Eligibility: Any work of previously unpublished writing authored by individuals at any stage of their careers who have not published a monograph in the area of submission at the time of submission. Submissions should be 8000 words or less inclusive of notes and references.

For a detailed explanation of submission requirements, please see the About/Downloads tab at Please direct all questions about the Patterson Prize to Jennifer McWeeny, Editor in Chief, [email protected].