Simone de Beauvoir Studies announces the first annual Patterson Prize

BSP News Item Thumbnail

Call for Submissions: The Editorial Committee of Simone de Beauvoir Studies is pleased to announce the first annual Patterson Prize.

Call for Submissions
Announcing the First Annual Patterson Prize!
Simone de Beauvoir Studies

Deadline: March 1, 2021, 11:59pm EST
Award: $300 USD and publication in Simone de Beauvoir Studies

The Editorial Committee of Simone de Beauvoir Studies is pleased to announce the first annual Patterson Prize competition. The award is named after Yolanda Astarita Patterson, the Editor in Chief of the journal for more than thirty years (1985-2016). The Patterson Prize is awarded annually to a work that demonstrates excellence in writing while also embodying modes of thought and expression characteristic of Beauvoir’s oeuvre. We especially invite submissions on topics relevant to Beauvoir’s legacy such as gender and sexuality, race and culture, literature, existentialism, global politics, and others.

Hallmarks of Beauvoir’s writing include a capacity to speak to the most pressing issues of our time; rigorous thinking that attends to the complexity and ambiguity of lived experience; a remarkable openness to new ideas; detailed attention to marginalized voices and first-person accounts of phenomena; the capacity to utilize multiple modes of expression; and a courageous insistence on challenging oppression in all its forms. The Patterson Prize is an international, multi-genre competition that welcomes submissions from authors writing from any cultural, disciplinary, interdisciplinary, and stylistic perspective. As a bilingual journal, we welcome submissions in English and French.

Eligibility: Any work of previously unpublished writing authored by individuals at any stage of their careers who have not published a monograph in the area of submission at the time of submission. Submissions should be 8000 words or less inclusive of notes and references.

For a detailed explanation of submission requirements, please see the About / Downloads tab at Please direct all questions about the Patterson Prize to Jennifer McWeeny, Editor in Chief, [email protected].