Wolfe Mays Essay Prize 2022-23: ‘Collective Memory’

The British Society for Phenomenology and the Journal of the British Society for Phenomenology are happy to announce the second Wolfe Mays Essay Prize. The theme for this year’s prize is ‘Collective Memory’. We welcome submissions that approach this topic from within the scope of the JBSP and seek to make a contribution to the study and development of phenomenological philosophy.

The prize is open to PhD candidates and early career researchers (within 5 years of receiving a PhD) who are members of the BSP. The winner will receive a cash prize of £500 and have their essay published in the JBSP (following a review process if appropriate). Full details of eligibility, submission, and evaluation criteria are below.

Wolfe Mays Essay Prize 2022-23: ‘Collective Memory’
Memory has always been at the forefront of phenomenological research, spanning from the study of recollection and retention to forgetfulness and the constitution of historical tradition. From a phenomenological viewpoint, the analysis of memory posits a number of issues that are connected to time awareness but also to the role of perception, recollection, imagination, and affect in generating, maintaining, and activating memory. A less prominent aspect concerns the possibility of collective memory. What is the difference between individual and collective memory? What is the structure of collective memory, if any? Can memory be shared? What are the ethical and political implications of collective memory? Are there distinctive experiences that distinguish collective memory from a historical tradition? We welcome submissions addressing these or other questions related to the theme of collective memory.

The 2022-23 prize overview is from Dr Elisa Magrì (Boston College), JBSP Editorial Collective.

Submissions should be made via the JBSP website, selecting the special issue “Wolfe Mays Essay Prize” when submitting. The deadline for submissions is 31 March 2023. Any questions can be addressed to Darian Meacham ([email protected]).

Key Dates:
> Essay Prize theme announced: June 2022
> Entrant submission deadline: 31 March 2023
> Jury meets and outcome communicated: September 2023

Full eligibility, submission, and evaluation criteria:
> Submissions must be from members of the BSP
> Submissions are accepted from PhD students and ECRs (within 5 years of doctoral completion)
> Submissions will not be accepted from the BSP Executive or the JBSP Editorial Committee
> Submissions must address the topic ‘Collective Memory’
> Submissions should be no more than 8000 words, inclusive of tables, references, figure captions, footnotes
> Submissions should contain an unstructured abstract of 150 words

The prize will be awarded to an outstanding essay addressing the topic, the winner being selected by a Prize Jury. The prize will be judged by a jury composed on an annual basis from the BSP Executive, the JBSP Editorial Committee and Editorial Advisory Board, and independent reviewers. The prize is a monetary award of £500 and publication in the JBSP. All shortlisted submissions will be considered as submissions by the JBSP.

Submitting your essay to the prize:
> To submit your essay to the Wolfe Mays Essay Prize, please use the submission system at Taylor and Francis Online for the JBSP.
> Once at the JBSP homepage, click the ‘submit an article’ link and login or sign-up for a ScholarOne Manuscripts account.
> When in the ScholarOne Manuscripts system, select ‘Author’, filling in the required details. In the ‘Is the manuscript a candidate for a special issue’ section tick ‘Yes’ and in the dropdown select ‘Wolfe Mays Essay Prize’.